surfing near diamond or publics

General surfing discussions, with a focus on Oahu. Instructions on how to register
JeSennia

surfing near diamond or publics

Postby JeSennia » Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:31 pm

Aloha, I'll be living near Kapiolani park and Kapahulu ave..was looking online for surf spots in the area and found Publics, also not too far away Cliffs and Lighthouse...been reading up about the sharp reef at low tide and a long paddle (at publics) anything else a noob should know (I'm already familiar with etiquette etc..usually surf at White plains and in the past at Queens, canoes etc..have both a 9'2 and 8'6 am beginner but not complete noob (know the basics)

from kapahulu/beach is it feasible to walk with the board to Publics? how about Diamond area is it feasible to ride over on a bike with board on rack?

and what's a long left? wave breaks to the left?

anyone who surfs this area email me thru my website at http://www.akaisilks.com we can meet for lunch and surf..

Bud
Supreme Overlord
Supreme Overlord

Postby Bud » Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:15 pm

(Diamond Head) Cliffs will be a good stepping stone from White plains. There's some exposed reef at lower tides on the left side of the channel on the paddle out but other than that area, it's relatively mellow bottom, all reef no sand though.

Be careful biking with a longboard, the DH is typically WINDY area! Depending on your bike legs, pedaling that hill might be a work out.

Lighthouse is much trickier than it looks from shore, can be extremely shallow with exposed reef in several impact areas.

red

Postby red » Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:21 pm

Publics can be a good wave but you can get in to trouble real fast if you don't kick out in time. That inside tube can be lots of fun but the reef is very shallow and sharp. Go Cliffs. They give lessons there so obviously it's not that dangerous.

Bud
Supreme Overlord
Supreme Overlord

Postby Bud » Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:23 pm